basil and procrastination

it’s that time of the semester again: papers.

as a politics student, i have a lot of these. this does not mean that i enjoy them or that they become easier the more you do them. naturally, the pain of these assignments makes me extremely inclined to procrastinate. my apartment is never cleaner than during these few weeks.

my cooking also gets much more elaborate. lunch today was an exception, however.

when my parents came up last weekend, they brought me about 4 portions of fresh pumpkin ravioli from our favourite pasta shop in toronto. yum!

i froze them (they keep really well) and today had my first taste. with pesto. mmmm.

basil is one of my absolute favourite flavours, thus pesto is my favourite pasta sauce. it’s also sooo easy!

i tend to make pesto without a set recipe, but this is the one i followed the first few times i made it:

pesto (from El Libro del Crandon)

[ingredients]
2/3 cup basil
1/3 cup parsley (i replaced this with chives today)
3 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup pine nuts (or any kind of nut, really – also, this is optional)
1/3 cup olive oil
1/2 cup finely grated cheese (parmesan works best)
salt
pepper

[directions]
throw all the ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend. serve with pasta, over crackers with goat cheese, or anything else you feel could use a little pesto ; )

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. summersher
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 11:18:45

    Yummmm… I love pesto too. Definitely my favorite pasta sauce- way better than those tomatoey alternatives! I ESPECIALLY love it with pine nuts.

    And still waiting to hear about those cookies…ūüėČ

    Reply

  2. atouchofrojo
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 09:35:28

    This is a good recpe to have in your backpocket. My sister loves pesto and I’ve eaten it before but have never really sat down to make a recipe with it. I’ll give it a try. Y qu√© chevere que escribes en espa√Īol. ¬ŅUsted es hispana o solo sabes espa√Īol? Estaba leyendo sus posts y pensaba, ‘por fin hay otro blog en espa√Īol.’ Bueno, happy blogging. Oh, una preguntica, ¬ŅQu√© hago para seguirla? No veo ningun feed o RSS o solo por twitter? Me hace saber por fa. Hasta luego, chao.

    Reply

    • dejamebailar
      Feb 10, 2011 @ 09:48:45

      Soy hispana Рnací en Uruguay, pero ahora vivo en Canadá. Je je, me alegro que te haya gustado.
      Para seguir, deber√≠a haber un botton arriba que dice “subscribe”…

      Reply

  3. atouchofrojo
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 10:09:54

    Ah ya, lo veo. Gracias. Wow, Uruguay. Yo vivo aqu√≠ en Bogot√°, Colombia. Nac√≠ en Charlotte, NC pero me cas√© en Bogot√° y ahora vivo con mi esposo y cocinamos y ‘tratamos’ de mantener nuestro blog. Bueno hasta luego.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

